If he makes you laugh till you cry, keep him

It’s been a year since I got married.   I suppose I haven’t written on the topic all that often, as I seem to gravitate towards the more unusual or random areas of life.

But HELLO- marriage is an unusual area.  We are all a bunch of weirdos who have promised to live the rest of our lives with other weirdos, creating peculiar if not downright bizarre habits with one another, and then potentially creating new little weirdos together.

Weird.  And entertaining.

Like the other day when Mikey and I went on an evening run.  This has become a recent and regular habit of ours, mainly because it’s been ridiculously hot and we can run without burning our tootsies off if we wait for the sun to go to sleep first.

Anyhow, on this particular night we happened to pass by this little old asian lady on the side of the road.  As we get closer,  we see that she is  grinning at us from ear-to-ear and clasping her hands together in delight. Actually, she isn’t grinning at us, she is grinning at him and looking his body up and down before remarking,

“Ahhh, thats very, very nice…..yes.  Mmmmmhhmmm”

Foxy.

Needless to say it took me a while to stop grinning after that, but it certainly wasn’t the first time this has happened…..nor will it be the last.   The older ladies, they can’t get enough of him.  It’s a thing.  A weird thing.

M and I, we’ve learned a lot about each other in the past year.  Oh, like when he doesn’t get enough sleep and is working too much, he actually continues working in his sleep. The other night I awoke to find him telling his ‘patient’ to ‘pull his hand back until it popped’

For those who don’t know, M is a sports medicine chiropractor….so this instruction was a bit unsettling to hear.  I continued to watch in some kind of disturbed delight as he turned to me (with his eyes closed) and said,

“Alright, you’re good to go, and hurry before you get hurt again”

me: “huh? what are you talking about”

M: “you need to listen to what I’m saying” 

me: “Why…?”

M:  “Because you’re my patient.” (said very impatiently)

me: “Um…..no I’m  not, I’m your wife”

M. “What…oh.  Where am I?”  (flops back into bed and is suddenly dead asleep. )

Another time he jumps out of bed like a bullet and runs to the bathroom mumbling ‘oh shit’ under his breath.  He bounds back holding a tissue out to a very confused me.  Apparently my face was ‘covered in blood’ when he left, only to find me staring peacefully back at him when he returned.

okaaaayyy….

It’s been nothing if not amusing.  Hilarious actually, in every good way.   I think I’ve laughed more this year than I have in a long time.   I’ll take that as a good sign.

IMG_0922

Leave a Reply

