The sweeter side of Trader Joe’s

I really didn’t mean to go on a Trader Joe’s sweets excursion last night, but since that is what’s happened, I figure I’ll make the most of it.  It’s actually quite convenient really, seeing that it’s still February and all.  Hey, maybe I planned it this way all along..

Yes yes, that’s it…….um…..ta da! I present to you February sweet deliciousness, TJ’s style.

So, I seriously wish I could take credit for what I’m about to tell you, but I’m afraid I must once again give credit to Mr Bossman, KG, because he found it first.

Speculoos Crunchy Cookie Butter

DSC_5150

Yeah, speculoos it is.  Honestly, it really does taste just like cookie dough in a jar, and who doesn’t like that?   Having opened it up last night and given it a taste, I just sort of stared at the stuff in wonder for a few moments wondering what in the world I was going to do with it.  I suppose you could spread it on a good piece of toast, perhaps some biscotti or morning bagel if you’re brave.  Personally, I think it would be just as delightful in one of these:

Tea_spoon_03.jpgad35bd0a-9c8b-4c20-8d27-5ea4a802c7f1Large

Yes, that’s right, no shame.  KG says the cookie butter tastes just like the ‘cats cookies’ from TJ’s, though I myself have yet to come across any such thing.  Highly suspicious.

Hard Pear Cider

396508533_9ffedd973f

Though I’ve mentioned this one before, I wasn’t able to find a photo for you previously and promised to do so.  So you see, the pear cider does exist.  I had a glass last night, and imagine it would be most refreshing on a warm summer’s eve.  As lovely as it was, I drank mine wrapped in a blanket and cuddling next to a heater last night. Not exactly a winter brew.

Cinnamon Apple Snack Sticks.

2012-08-07_22-25-58_694

Yummeee. Sort of healthier, crispier version of Disneyland churros without the line to buy them. Really light and not too sweet, these were definitely worth it.

Mini Lemon Blueberry Scones

tj.lemonscones-300x2233772182-blueberry-scone--tea

These little darlings are dangerously good, I only pick up a bag every once in a while because they seem too special to have too often.  If you’re a tea person, I recommend a hot cup of earl grey with some cream and lemon to go with it, or some other black breakfast tea of your choice. Oh, and be sure to warm them up for about 20 seconds beforehand, they are most delightful served hot.

Edamami Crackers

b_201107201656301764

Since everything I’ve mentioned today has been on the sweeter side, it seems appropriate that I should end with something savory (look at that, it even says ‘savory’ on the bag, haha). These guys are really good by themselves, but I imagine they’d do well with some sort of hummus or even alongside avocado or guacamole. If you enjoy edamani half as much as I do, I imagine you’ll like these.

Happy munching my friend.

Leave a Reply

